Skip to content

New York Pitch and Shop

June 9, 2010

Notable News from a Year Ago, June 9, 2009: THE INNER LIMIT is born (or, depending on how you choose to look at it, reborn).

Dashed Dreams.

First things first, today is actually Saturday, June 13, 2009.  It’s raining slightly, as it has been all week, and my shirt is moist from the jaunt back from Utica Avenue station.  It’s 5:19 PM.

I’m depressed.

I’ve been rejected once again.

Well, truthfully, rejected isn’t the word I would use.  As part of the New Pitch and Shop Conference, I’ve pitched three agents/editors over the past three days, as have the rest of my group of sixteen or so.  I pitched The Twin Paradox as you should already know as a soft science fiction novelization of Robert Frost’s “The Road Not Taken.” If I do say so myself, it was one of the best pitches at the conference and didn’t change much during peer review.

Our workshop leader, who’s worked with Eric Jerome Dickey, loved it, and when I finished my pitch off to the editor with my two-line summary of the novel — “Some people lead double lives.  Others, like Kendall, have two to live.” — I got unanimous “Wows”.  Three other people, including a girl I helped improve and craft her pitch, got business cards.  Me: I got nothing.  Not even a sniff.

Thus: depression and the self-pitying jaunt down diary lane.

Of course, I have one more editor pitch tomorrow morning and I knew coming in with a half-completed and genre-skewing novel, it would be a tough sell.  But still… I’m disappointed.  I had only one hope coming in to this conference, and I’ve said it before: Contacts.  I hoped the pitch/concept of The Twin Paradox would be appealing enough that an editor would have the forethought to say, “You know, this is good, when you finish it send me a copy.”  Perhaps it was foolishness, and even naive, to hope for such a thing.

And I know the truth of the matter:  To become a published author it only takes one editor, and tomorrow could be the day I find the one.  But it was hard today.  I got asked twice today if I was a published author and I was able to mention the Honorable Mention in New Millennium Writings and even being a finalist in the Author! Author! censorship contest (which I found out about on Monday), but none of it helped.  The editors said “Good,” but apparently when I left the room, the next word out of their mouths was “Next!”

So I rode the fabled A-train home with my head down.  Thought about my future.  Since we were in Ripley-Grier Studios with dance and singing auditions all around us (the location, according to the website, of American Idol tryouts), I thought about all the people in the world who are trying to achieve their dream, and how many of those dreams must inevitably be dashed upon the pavement.  Perhaps I’m one of the ones who’s not meant to make it, the bridesmaid that never becomes the bride.  But I don’t want that to be the case, can’t accept it if it is.  All I can do is proceed forward, and I think I know what I’ll do.

Michael’s House.  I’m bringing it out of the closet.  I’ve been thinking about it off and on now, and even though it didn’t work with The Twin Paradox, I know how to pitch a novel now.  I see how I can rewrite Michael’s House with improvements, change the name to something like The Inner Limit, and keep going forward from there.

It’s all I can do.

<!–[if !mso]> <! st1\:*{behavior:url(#ieooui) } –>

Notable News from a Year Ago, June 9, 2009: THE INNER LIMIT is born (or, depending on how you choose to look at it, reborn).

First things first, today is actually Saturday, June 13, 2009.  It’s raining slightly, as it has been all week, and my shirt is moist from the jaunt back from Utica Avenue station.  It’s 5:19 PM.

I’m depressed.

I’ve been rejected once again.

Well, truthfully, rejected isn’t the word I would use.  As part of the New Pitch and Shop Conference, I’ve pitched three agents/editors over the past three days, as have the rest of my group of sixteen or so.  I pitched The Twin Paradox as you should already know as a soft science fiction novelization of Robert Frost’s “The Road Not Taken.”  If I do say so myself, it was one of the best pitches at the conference and didn’t change much during peer review.

Our workshop leader, who’s worked with Eric Jerome Dickey, loved it, and when I finished my pitch off to the editor with my two-line summary of the novel — “Some people lead double lives.  Others, like Kendall, have two to live.” — I got unanimous “Wows”.  Three other people, including a girl I helped improve and craft her pitch, got business cards.  Me: I got nothing.  Not even a sniff.

Thus: depression and the self-pitying jaunt down diary lane.

Of course, I have one more editor pitch tomorrow morning and I knew coming in with a half-completed and genre-skewing novel, it would be a tough sell.  But still… I’m disappointed.  I had only one hope coming in to this conference, and I’ve said it before: Contacts.  I hoped the pitch/concept of The Twin Paradox would be appealing enough that an editor would have the forethought to say, “You know, this is good, when you finish it send me a copy.”  Perhaps it was foolishness, and even naive, to hope for such a thing.

And I know the truth of the matter:  To become a published author it only takes one editor, and tomorrow could be the day I find the one.  But it was hard today.  I got asked twice today if I was a published author and I was able to mention the Honorable Mention in New Millennium Writings and even being a finalist in the Author! Author! censorship contest (which I found out about on Monday), but none of it helped.  The editors said “Good,” but apparently when I left the room, the next word out of their mouths was “Next!”

So I rode the fabled A-train home with my head down.  Thought about my future.  Since we were in Ripley-Grier Studios with dance and singing auditions all around us (the location, according to the website, of American Idol tryouts), I thought about all the people in the world who are trying to achieve their dream, and how many of those dreams must inevitably be dashed upon the pavement.  Perhaps I’m one of the ones who’s not meant to make it, the bridesmaid that never becomes the bride.  But I don’t want that to be the case, can’t accept it if it is.  All I can do is proceed forward, and I think I know what I’ll do.

Michael’s House.  I’m bringing it out of the closet.  I’ve been thinking about it off and on now, and even though it didn’t work with The Twin Paradox, I know how to pitch a novel now.  I see how I can rewrite Michael’s House with improvements, change the name to something like The Inner Limit, and keep going forward from there.

It’s all I can do.

One Comment

Trackbacks

  1. Take a Lick, Keep on Ticking « Weekly Vista

Comments are closed.

