Skip to content

Airplane Food

March 27, 2010

I was of the impression because of how much I have to do this weekend that I’d skip this weekly mashup, but about 10 minutes ago my brain woke up and I thought better of it.  Must be that thing we call discipline.  Whatever the case, here I am from 36,000 feet up in the air: The Weekly Wrap.

  • I’ve been flying Delta for years now and I have to tell you — first class food just ain’t what it used to be.  There was a time when I’d bypass lunch or dinner just because of the tasty vittles in first class, but not any more.   A sign of the times: me in first class sleeping through the meal service because I’ve already eaten.  But I love my leg room.  Please, Delta, don’t take that away.
  • I had idea for an iphone app earlier today [Friday] and it got me to thinking about beliefs and how, in a very real sense, they are both your strength and you weakness.  I’m not going to give you the specifics of the app because I still might do it, but imagine a place where the products you peddle are not confined to the demographic you represent.  So an unholy man can make a buck selling holy products.  Or a white cosmetics conglomerate, like Revlon, can make millions selling black hair care products.  That’s the power of capitalism.  As my nephew would say: “Get you some.”
  • Speaking of capitalism, I finally got around to watching Good Hair, the satirical biopic from Chris Rock, and I came away with some startling revelations.  Firstly, when he’s not on the prowl for whitey, Al Sharpton’s a pretty thoughtful guy.  Secondly, there’s nothing like a global perspective on any topic to illustrate the malleability of truth in the world.  One country’s garbage can be another country’s gold.  In this case, hair’s the focus, but one Indian girl’s answer to Chris Rock’s question is telling.  Asked if she would pay for someone else’s hair, the girl said: “Why?  I already have my own.”
  • In fact, the whole thing got me to thinking about our honeymoon, which we took in Riviera Maya in Mexico back in 2004.  There was one place we went too, Tulum I believe, where the guide told us about the excesses of the Mayan civilization.  It was the vogue, he told us, for the affluent to have holes drilled in their teeth and precious rubies and gems inserted.  In other words, there’s no such thing as a new idea under the sun and Lil Wayne ain’t got nothing on the Mayans.

And that’s the Weekly Wrap.

Next Vista: Wednesday, March 31, 2010, another blank entry from the looks of it, but I’ll whip up something and make it worth your while.  Come by and have some!

Comments are closed.

