Skip to content

La Bamba

February 6, 2010

The Weekly Wrap: It can be difficult when I’m traveling to keep up with the world around, such as the case this week, but here are some thoughts and random things I did capture.

  • I’ve thought a lot about “lost” meaning this week, a subject that typically comes up when I’m traveling abroad.  In this case, I stumbled across a saying better left to a 1980s version of Eddie Murphy.  I don’t even know how it’s spelled, but to my unschooled ears, it sounded a lot like La Bamba.  Yeah, the song. La-la-bamba.   So I asked my Puerto Rican counterpart what la bamba meant, and she sort of scratched her head.  It’s a dance, but it can’t be translated directly into English.  For all we know, it could mean Do the Stanky Leg.  But that’s the beauty and the freedom of meanings.  They define, and yet at the same time, they can leave much-needed room for interpretation.  I myself love to interpret whenever the opportunity arises.
  • On the subject of Puerto Rico, I love how Puerto Ricans (particularly women) pronounce my name.  Of course, as soon as I say that I have to stop, because there was a Fear of God expose in Essence Magazine called “Fool’s Paradise” about black men and Brazilian (and now Dominican) women, and I’m not trying to feed into that black-men-love-exotics storyline.  All I’m saying is the pronunciation is amusing.  It’s like Jerrard.  Smoother.  And they just don’t say it like that in Georgia or Tennessee, if you know what I mean.
  • And how about there’s this British IT manager who says my name in a similar sheddule instead of schedule fashion, and I like to hear him say my name, too.  It’s just amusement, people.  I’m not admitting to being on the DL with a European.  As one of my favorite ESPN Monday Football commercials says, “I cut the sleeves off because it looks awesome.  Get your head in the game!”
  • And my birthday is tomorrow, Super Bowl Sunday.  I’m turning 32.  Which means I’ve come a long way, but I still have a long way to go.  Here’s hoping the next 32 are prosperous, for me, and for you.  Everybody, now, do it with me.  La-la-bamba!  HEY!

And that’s the Weekly Wrap.

Next Vista: Wednesday, February10, 2010, “On Being Thirty-One”

Comments are closed.

