Skip to content

Cook it Long, Cook it Wrong

January 30, 2010

The Weekly Wrap: A weekend addition of interesting articles and finds across the internet (and things that have happened to me). There’s no telling what you’ll find here.

  • I’ve been thinking a lot about that old saying this week.  You know the one.  “Study long, study wrong.”  Actually, I like my version of this axiom better because it’s always true.  You never want to overcook something.  Never.  With studying it’s only sometimes true, and personally, I believe it’s necessary, and the more the better.  It’s like American Express, you know?  Don’t take a test without it.  But there’s something to be said for unconscious expertise — the sort of knowledge/activity/decision making that is “in the flow of the moment.”  When you reach that point, my friends, you’re close to mastery.  And to live in this fashion is to live the true self-actualized life.  And I love being actualized, don’t you?
  • This is nothing new to me, and if you stick around for the coming installments of the Weekly Vista, you’ll come to understand my take on the matter.  But this literary agent says it best, and with a lot less confrontation in her voice: “Publishing is Not Color Blind”.  It’s always better when I don’t have to say these things myself, you know, because when I do I  sound like a self-centered, self-promotional crybaby.  And nobody wants that, do they?
  • On to a closely related topic, have you noticed that when race or profiling is the topic of discussion that people start quoting statistics?  I mean, it’s like a clockwork response: science, particularly statistics, has become the default yardstick with which to touch these icky topics.  I guess that’s better than past reactions, which included lynchings and attempted genocide, but it’s still not good enough.  Racism is human-based — it’s not something you can remove through violence, or explain away on a chart.  It’s not something that’s apart from humanity.  Until we figure this out, nothing really ever changes.
  • I love what Steven Barnes said about friendship in this recent post (it’s the second part of the post you want; in the first part, he talks about “Don’t ask, Don’t Tell”).  But I’m in agreement with him on this matter.  And regardless of your impression of wealth and whether you should be pursuing it or not (I, personally, am in hot pursuit, breaker breaker 10-4), the fact remains that the company you keep defines the dreams and the livelihood you seek.  I think, in personal relationships, we live under the misguided notion that we’re more powerful than we really are.  We think we can change our finds, even our loved ones.  But it’s a lot easier for your friends, and your family, to bring you down than it is for you to bring them up.  Remember, falling is easy.  Flying?  Difficult.  So choose your friends wisely.  Your dreams depend on it.

And that’s the Weekly Wrap.

Next Vista: Wednesday, February 3, 2010, “The P-P-P-Plan”

Comments are closed.

