Skip to content

The Odds are Good, But the Goods are Odd

January 23, 2010

The Weekly Wrap: A weekend addition of interesting articles and finds across the internet (and things that have happened to me). There’s no telling what you’ll find here.

  • Big up to my man Craig for sending me the video above, which is hilarious, and reminds me of something I said in The Dating Game in which I implied there are more black women than men at Georgia Tech.   This is probably inaccurate.  There are more men than women at Georgia Tech in general, so it follows that there are more black men.  But my overall argument about marriage being difficult regardless of options is still intact — because if that’s the case, every black woman who went to Tech should be happily married because the “odds are good”.  Is this true, or am I being argumentative for argument’s sake? You know what?  I should probably just leave the topic alone altogether.
  • In the “Say What” news of the week, I read recently where Tavis Smiley, who owns a publishing company, is publishing R. Kelly’s memoirs.  So everyone say it with me now: Say what?
  • And last but not least, the funniest thing in the last few days isn’t “The Ratio”, but instead it’s something I heard at the barbershop.  An older man was sitting in the chair when a younger man walked over to him and said, “Hey, Mr. Cup (because that’s what they call him), let me hold five thousand dollars.”  And Mr. Cup was quiet for a moment, but then he said the Line of the Month: “You’ve got the right string [and he pronounced it strang], but the wrong yo-yo.”   I”ve been saying in all week when situations call for for. For instance, I was in Puerto Rico this week and this Supply Chain Manager was trying to convince me to approve some programming changes, and I told him to get me some data verifying the need and the benefits.  He sends an after-6PM-email with some overstated numbers trying to stir up stuff, and copies the Plant Manager and his boss.  And I’m like, Yo dude, this is my system.  You don’t even have a sign-on.  So you can’t throw some BS numbers out there and not expect me to follow-up.  You can’t buffalo a buffalo.  Or, to use the Line of the Month, he went for effect by choosing outlandish numbers; and to get management on his side, that was the right string to pull.  But sorry, Charlie, you’ve got the wrong yo-yo.  I had to blow him out the water.

And that’s the Weekly Wrap.

Next Vista: Wednesday, January 27, 2010, “The Truth”

Comments are closed.

